SOLVED Help setting up modded minecraft server?

Lyoko630

Dabbler
I have recently built a NAS with the intent to run a modded minecraft server off of it as well as have storage for my family.

Storage problem? Solved
Minecraft problem? Headache inducing.

I have been trying to get a server running for 2 weeks with no success whatsoever. Actually, I got a vanilla server running off of mineOS but that's it. I've followed guides, looked at forums, and still the problem remains. I cannot get a Revolution|3 server running off of mineOS or a jail.

I need help. Badly.

I'm up for hours trying to get a working server and it always ends with me going to bed frustrated around 4am. If anybody has a solution or can at least help with this problem, I will greatly appreciate it.

I'm running FreeNAS 11.0-U4 trying to run a Revolution|3 minecraft server downloaded from the ATLauncher.

Good luck. I have never successfully installed a modded minecraft server.

I've been a Unix admin for 22 years. Everything from the smallest Raspberry Pi to a large IBM AIX HACMP cluster. I've written (minor) software in a dozen different languages. I even made to the level of IT Directory for a financial services firm. I got my first internet email address in 1987 and my first internet domain in 1995. I have a five-digit Slashdot UID beginning with a '1'. My tech cred is solid.

My son jumped into Minecraft hardcore years ago. I spun up several worlds on my colocated server for him and his friends to play. We had LAN parties to play Minecraft at my house. There were times there were 15 or more kids playing cooperatively in the same land. It was awesome.

Until the kid wanted to install the Twilight Forest mod. Being the cool IT dad, I said, sure, no problem. I figured, what, how long could it take? An hour? Maybe? Right? Twelve-year-olds do this all the time, right?