GPU Pass Through and Attached Monitor

titlescanner

Cadet
I’m new to the TrueNAS community, following about a year of learning self-hosting/home lab setup on a Raspberry Pi (e.g., using docker containers).

I’ve installed TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.0 on an HP EliteDesk 800 G5 and have managed to get a Windows VM up and running. I have also managed to pass through a NVIDIA Corporation GP107GL [Quadro P400] graphics card, which is “isolated” according to the TrueNAS GUI. It is also detected by Windows Device Manager on the VM.

My question (possibly a naive one) is whether I should be able to attached a monitor/display to the graphics card and then see the desktop GUI? I can access the desktop via Remote Desktop, but nothing seems to be coming out of my attached monitor—neither the Windows desktop or the TrueNAS CLI. The TrueNAS console did originally appear on my monitor following installation.

My goal is to have a VM that can be running Windows alongside a bunch of docker containers installed directly on TrueNAS, which would only be accessed via a web browser. Therefore, curious to know whether I’m missing something, or doing something wrong. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I’m looking forward to getting to know TrueNAS better!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
whether I should be able to attached a monitor/display to the graphics card and then see the desktop GUI?
No, it doesn't work like that for a GPU attached to a VM.

You'll need to continue as you have already been doing with RDP.

titlescanner

Cadet
Thanks for the clarification. Back to planning a different strategy then I guess!

I had a follow up to this thread.