FreeNAS VMWare datastore

Status
Not open for further replies.

mhejek

Dabbler
I am new in vmware.
I want to build vmware with FreeNAS as datastore.
How can I build FreeNAS mirror data store as failover scenario?
Replication scenario is not what I expected.

best regard
vicky

Last edited by a moderator:

kdragon75

Wizard
You would need to buy a TrueNAS appliance from iXSystems. Otherwise, replication is about the best you will get from a FREE pre packaged GUI based storage system.

mhejek

Dabbler
You would need to buy a TrueNAS appliance from iXSystems. Otherwise, replication is about the best you will get from a FREE pre packaged GUI based storage system.
i mention truenas,and i ever tried reach them.i got reseprentative from asian .but i never get quotation.its hard to get truenas here in indonesia

BDMcGrew

Dabbler
It can be done but let me preface my comments by saying this is not a 'supported' FreeNAS configuration and there will be lots of people who bark at me; but, here's how my system is setup.

I run vCenter 6.7 with ESXi 6.5 across 6 clustered hosts. My hosts are too old to run ESXi 6.7 so I'm stuck at 6.5.

I run FreeNAS on two different, large hosts chalk full of drives with iSCSI running and all the VMware hosts mount both iSCSI datastores from both NAS's.

I then use VMware HA (which keep's the VM's running on 2+ hosts and sync'd in both datastores).

All most hosts have 10Gb cards for iSCSI/vMotion traffic and standard 1Gb cards for network access.

Yes, I know this is not a direct solution for what you're asking; but it's a way to get there without going into a TrueNAS box.

Hope it helps.

-b

mhejek

Dabbler
It can be done but let me preface my comments by saying this is not a 'supported' FreeNAS configuration and there will be lots of people who bark at me; but, here's how my system is setup.

I run vCenter 6.7 with ESXi 6.5 across 6 clustered hosts. My hosts are too old to run ESXi 6.7 so I'm stuck at 6.5.