FreeNAS file storage not accessible through file explorer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,

First time I've come on here seeking help, but I just can't figure this one out.

I've been using FreeNAS for a couple of years now and it's worked fine until a little while ago. Normally when I want to copy over new media files onto the server
I go through file explorer so I can copy them across nice and easy. I tried doing this again some weeks ago, typed in the ip //nas-ip, but it came up with a message
saying "Windows cannot access...".
Now I did swap routers over a few weeks before this, and adjusted the ip's to suit it (Gateway, default route etc). Following this the server worked for a while, but suddenly one day I couldn't access
the files via file explorer. I tried a different computer, this worked for a couple days, and then the same thing happened. Now I can't access the files at all.
However, I still can access the gui (both FreeNAS settings and the interface for the Emby plugin) through the browser.

I'm at a loss as to what is causing this and seeing as I'm not too knowledgeable about all things server-related, I can't solve this problem. Could someone please help me out?

Thanks in advance,
Pete

Redcoat

MVP
Welcome to the forums!

You haven't given us much to work with - please read the forum rules (link in the masthead), particularly the topic on the need for you to provide hardware and environment information, and come back with it.

Do you have valid DNS server info in your router? Use 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 if in doubt.

While you're at the keyboard, give \\nas-ip a try...

Thanks for the reply!

Essentially I bought the microserver and upgraded the RAM and added the harddrives.
My specs are as follows:

System: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
RAM: 2X 4GB DDR3 PC3L-12800E ECC
CPU: Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3Ghz 2-Core
HDD: 3X Western Digital Red 3TB WD30EFRX , 1X 256GB SSD (for OS)