FreeNAS 8 VM on workstation running on Windows 7 zraid.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miniwehats

Explorer
Hello, I need some advice here. I am fairly new to freenas but have worked with a decent amount of VMs and also storage (Netapp filers). What I have at home is a server with i7 8gb RAM, 6 1.5 TB drives and a 90gig SSD. I would like to run windows 7 off the SSD and run FreeNAS off a VM in VMware Workstation or Sun alternative. What I want to know is what is best practice for this? Can I add all the local drives to the VM by adding them as virtual drives and then create the Raid-z? Will windows want to "touch" the drives once i do that and mess things up? Can I hide the drives so windows does not want to do things with them? Also if a drive goes out will Vmware tell me or Freenas specify what disk needs to be replaced? Should i scratch that setup and run ESXI off the SSD and make a win7 VM and FreeNAS vm? I use this box for torrents and other media applications....Also had a slight issue with workstation not letting me add more than like 3 TB of space to the IDE controller and I wanted to make a second controller but could not figure it out, in sun virtual box it let me create more IDE channels but I could never get FreeNAS working on it ><

Also is 8gb RAM enough for that many TB?
ESXI a must or can I do this from workstation or Sun virtual box?

Any help would be great, I looked around the forums but cannot seem to find what I am looking for.... I assume someone out there has done this...

cyberjock

Inactive Account