Feedback On Supermicro MBD-X11SCA-F-O Build

kilroy232

Cadet
Hi, I hope that everyone is well.

Quick background on me, I have been running TrueNAS Core (previously FreeNAS) for a few years now as a hobbyist and I have gotten to the point where I depend on the systems that TrueNAS is running and I want to take steps to make a more bullet proof system. The current system I have sees a number of crashing issues related to C6 C-State on AMD Ryzen CPUs and more importantly the processor does not support ECC memory. You should be able to see my current system in my signature.

These are the parts I am considering purchasing:
Mother Board: Supermicro MBD-X11SCA-F-O
CPU 1: Intel Xeon E-2234 Coffee Lake 3.6GHz
CPU 2: Intel Xeon E-2136 Coffee Lake 3.3GHz
Memory: NEMIX 32GB DDR4-2666 PC4-21300 2Rx8 ECC Unbuffered Memory

These parts would be powered by the 450W LSP ULT-H450W that is currently in there. I understand that the power supply is a little small but I don't plan to add any more disks for some time.

With TrueNAS I am running 2 SMB shares, 1 Ubuntu 18 VM, and 6 jails running (Plex, PiHole and various other things).

Want I would like to know is if anyone reading this sees an problems with these parts as far as them working together and working with TrueNAS (FreeBSD). Also if there are any suggestions or recommendations, as I am still very much a hobbyist. I have seen that the Supermicro X10 and X11 seems to be the board of choice on the forum here.

I would appreciate any feedback.

P.S. Is IPMI a good feature to have? I have never owned a workstation/server motherboard but it sounds like a cool feature to have.

artlessknave

Wizard
have you considered that some of your crashing issues might be because you...don't have enough power?
i would not even consider running your *existing* system on 450W. as PSUs get older, they tend to supply a little less, and when you run them near their max, they age and fail faster.