Desperately need help with permissions and sharing - i have been trying for a week

ethereal

Guru
I have been running freenas for 8 years and i have 2 pools that i created back then.
There are no datasets i just share the two pools using samba with a guest access.
everything was ok until windows 10 updated and now it will not let me access the shares because it is a security risk.
i still have access on windows 7 but i don't know for how long. as my setup worked for 8 years i have never needed to learn about datasets, permissions and sharing.
i have watched videos and read the manual but i haven't a clue what to do. part of the problem is i am using 11.3-U1 and all the videos aren't. i also have huntingtons disease which has effected me. I need to get this sorted as soon as possible as my son's games are on the freenas.

This is what i think i need to do if i am wrong please let me know. i think if i use a user with a user name and password this will let my windows 10 see the shares

1. Create a group called kodi

2. Create a user called kodi with user name kodi and password kodi

3. Create a dataset on the pools and edit the permissions to user kodi and group kodi

4. Create a samba share to the two datasets

i hope you can help

FreeNAS-11.3-U1

Supermicro MBD-X9SCL-F-O
Intel Pentium G2130 3.20GHz (Dual Core)
32GB Crucial PC3-12800 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM (ECC)

Boot Mirror - 2 x Intel SSD 320 Series 40GB
6 x 3TB - Western Digital in RAIDZ2
6 x 8TB in RAIDZ2 - WD80EZAZ removed from My Books - 3 Year Warranty
SAS9220-8i (FW 20.00.07.00-IT)

PSU - Seasonic G Series 550w
CyberPower CP685AVRG (390w UPS)

Case - Lian-Li PC-A71B with Lian-Li 3.5" / 2.5" HDD Rack Kit : EX-36B1

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
So if I understand your current setup correctly, you have a share which was working in the past, just not with Windows 10 1903?