Connor19

Cadet
Hardware:
Asus W680 motherboard
i7-14700K CPU
64GB DDR5 ECC RAM
3x 16TB HDDs, one used for redundancy

Nvidia Quadro T400 passthrough GPU

I built this NAS in december and had trouble with GPU isolation and getting a VM to work and presumed that it was an error with Truenas and waited for updates, after multiple updates I am still getting nowhere and cant figure out why I am having trouble. I am a bit of a noob when it comes to Truenas and right now just use it for Plex and for storage, but want to get this VM working.

As of now I can configure the VM settings and select the isolated Nvidia GPU but when I turn it on I get:
[EINVAL] gpu_settings.isolated_gpu_pci_ids: pci_0000_01_00_0, pci_0000_01_00_1 GPU pci slot(s) are not available or a GPU is not configured.

I am posting this after going into the BIOS and enabling some sort of Virtualisation setting which I thought may fix this issue but I am still having the same problem.

Does anyone have a solution here as I am just scratching my head this point and have absolutely given up trying to do this on my own

farout

Dabbler
Try this:
- In the BIOS make sure the iGPU is selected as the primary display adapter.
- dont select the quadro as a gpu during the creation of the vm
- after creating the vm, under PCI devices, add the quadro and the gpu-audio device.

- it only works, if the quadro is in its own iommu group

There are known bugs at the moment, that cause all sorts of errors....

Last edited:

Connor19

Cadet
Hi, thanks for the response. Something tells me the GPU isnt isolating properly or something because I did just this and when I started the VM, the NAS itself shut down, any idea what this could be?

banagalemr

Cadet
Do you have any updates on this issue or solved the problem ? I have Nvidia Quadro K620 and GTX 1050 TI. I isolated the GTX 1050 TI and intend to use this for my VM. But once I selected the isolated GPU, I get the same error as you are getting. Thanks.

Connor19

Cadet