Asian Languages for Plex Subtitles

Status
Not open for further replies.

gayanll

Cadet
Hello,

I've FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 running with Plex Media Server plugin. Also i got some movies with "Sinhalese" subtitles, which i would really like to watch on TV with plex. But plex encode subtitles for Boxes instead of letters. I did some research and found thats because FreeNas doesnt undestand Subtitle language. How can i install Sinhalese (si_LK.UTF-8) to freenas so plex will be able to encode them properly?

Im really new to FreeNAS, I have no clue how to do this using shell.

thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
"FreeNAS doesn't understand subtitle language"? This part makes no sense to me. FreeNAS simply stores the files, plex processes the subtitle languages.

david kennedy

Explorer
Hello,

I've FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 running with Plex Media Server plugin. Also i got some movies with "Sinhalese" subtitles, which i would really like to watch on TV with plex. But plex encode subtitles for Boxes instead of letters. I did some research and found thats because FreeNas doesnt undestand Subtitle language. How can i install Sinhalese (si_LK.UTF-8) to freenas so plex will be able to encode them properly?

Im really new to FreeNAS, I have no clue how to do this using shell.

thanks

My wife is Chinese and I have similar issues so I will take a stab here.

Normally (not a plex expert here) this indicates the playback app does not have the fonts to display the Subtitle language so you might be on to something with (si_LK.UTF-8)

Have you tried to save a filename in "Sinhalese" on your freenas server?

Alternatively, on a windows PC where I assume you have the fonts/Language pack installed can you play back with subs using something else (xbmc, vlc, etc).

Off topic...
You are a pilot?

gayanll

Cadet
My wife is Chinese and I have similar issues so I will take a stab here.