Adding storage to server.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cronus94

Dabbler
Hi All,

This may have been asked before so forgive me if it has. I am fairly new to freenas so be gentle.

I have a server that has 4 x 4tb WD Reds set up in RaidZ2 (usuable 7tb) and I'm running out of space (roughly 2tb left). Given the amount of time it has taken me to fill up 5tb im sure it wont take long to use up the last 2tb.

I have heard that it is difficult to add additional storage to an existing pool. So I was wondering, would it be easier to delete the whole pool/ volume add the extra drives and make a new volumes from scratch with the extra drives added and using backups from external drives?

I have 2 SATA ports left on my X11SSM-F and was also looking at adding the M1015 controller (flashing to IT mode) at the same time.

I only use the server for Plex at the moment if interested.

Last edited:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
I have heard that it is difficult to add additional storage to an existing pool.
Then you've been misled.

What's difficult (currently impossible*) is changing the vdev configuration - the number of drives in a RAIDZ setup, for example.

Adding a new vdev, on the other hand, is extremely easy. In your case, we need to know what your current drive setup is.

Did you create the pool as a set of two mirror sets, or one larger volume in RAIDZ2? Either way, you can attach more drives and extend the pool - the existing config just offers guidance on how many you should add at a time.

*yes I know you can convert a stripe to a mirror, etc. don't think that will help the OP here.

Cronus94

Dabbler
Thanks for the reply.

Did you create the pool as a set of two mirror sets, or one larger volume in RAIDZ2?

One large volume in RaidZ2.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I have heard that it is difficult to add additional storage to an existing pool.
You heard wrong. It is extremely easy, but there are restrictions on what you'd want to do.