4K hardware for streaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

doubledoor

Cadet
Hi!

I am new to Nas Servers and i want to build a home file Server. I want to use a raspberry in order to stream 4k movies to tv(I know it will have bad frame rate). Does my server need more power for this? I am thinking about the hp microserver.

adrianwi

Guru
The answer to this depends on lots of unknown factors. How will your media be stored and in what format? Will you be using a media server (such as Plex) and if so what client? And if you know it will have a bad frame rate, why would you even bother? How big is your TV that you'll see any real benefit from 4k over 1080p?

doubledoor

Cadet
The answer to this depends on lots of unknown factors. How will your media be stored and in what format? Will you be using a media server (such as Plex) and if so what client? And if you know it will have a bad frame rate, why would you even bother? How big is your TV that you'll see any real benefit from 4k over 1080p?

I am planning it for future upgrade, for now i will only use the raspberry. I want to install XBMC on raspberry and stream it from the Server. The media will be .flv files(maybe) on freenas filesystem. Will i have to install a media server on freenas?

INCSlayer

Contributor
I am planning it for future upgrade, for now i will only use the raspberry. I want to install XBMC on raspberry and stream it from the Server. The media will be .flv files(maybe) on freenas filesystem. Will i have to install a media server on freenas?